The Cybersecurity Maturity Model (CMMC) Level 1

This library of Cybersecurity Playbooks provides a set of fully loaded and editable templates that represent the core of what is generally required by management (including process owners), boards of directors and their audit committees, as well as internal and external auditors of relevant organizations, to document, assess, test, report and oversee the design and operating effectiveness of the typical key internal controls on which management is reliant to maintain compliance with Cybersecurity regulatory requirements.

They are drawn from a range of authoritative sources including the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council's (FFIEC), the Department of Defense, the SEC's Office of Compliance Inspections and Examinations (OCIE), and the New York Department of Financial Services (NYDFS).

Download the Playbook

Unlock access to a wealth of information.

What is the Cybersecurity Maturity Model (CMMC) Level 1 Playbook?

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model (CMMC) Level 1 Assessment Playbook addresses the following domains:

  • Access Control (AC)
  • Identification and Authentication (IA)
  • Media Protection (MP)
  • Physical Protection (PE)
  • System and Communications Protection (SC)
  • System and Information Integrity (SI)

The CMMC Level 1 Assessment Playbook consists of:

  • 6 CMMC Domains (as above)
  • 17 Practices, and
  • 44 Potential Assessment Considerations

Level 1 of CMMC addresses the protection of Federal Contract Information (FCI) and encompasses the basic safeguarding requirements for FCI specified in Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) Clause 52.204-21.

Department of Defense (DoD) contracts that specify the need for a contractor to process, store, or transmit FCI only require the contractor to comply with CMMC Level 1 practices. There is no CMMC process maturity assessed at Level 1.



You Also Get


Policy Document Template

These templates are designed to be a starting point for your clients, which can be tailored for your client's specific organizational needs.


Overview Flow Charts

A diagrammatic representation of the flow of assessment activities within your playbook.



Our instructions for use. These are the same for all our playbooks, once you know how to use one, you can use them all.



A PowerPoint tutorial on the specific playbook, covering the most important aspects of this area of assessment.

One Subscription. 100+ Playbooks.

You know what your clients need, let us help you deliver.

Related Playbooks

Playgroup Icon

NIST-CSF: Cybersecurity Framework (CSF)

Playgroup Icon

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model (CMMC) Level 1

Playgroup Icon

Cybersecurity Maturity Model (CMMC) Level 3

Playgroup Icon

Cybersecurity Baseline Assessment (FFIEC)

Playgroup Icon

Cybersecurity (NYDFS 23 NYCRR 500)


What are they saying?

Learn more about the many benefits our Playbooks have offered organisations like yours.

Based on Authoritative Sources

Sign up for our newsletter and get the best of GRC Playbook straight to your inbox.
Leo-logo ERDF ESF